2020 Juno Awards nominees announced, Alessia Cara will host ceremony

alessia cara

Canada’s greatest night in music is set to happen in Saskatoon, Sask., this spring, and on Tuesday morning, The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (or CARAS) uncovered its candidate list, yet the individuals who will perform at the 2020 Juno Awards also.

Alongside first-time host Alessia Cara, various cherished Canadian performers will hit the SaskTel Center stage on March 15, including nominees Daniel Caeser, Lennon Stella, The Glorious Sons and Tory Lanez.

Jann Arden, who was recently reported as this year’s Canadian Music Hall of Fame inductee, will likewise hit the phase for an exhibition praising her generally fruitful vocation and administration to the music business.

Not exclusively will Cara, the Brampton-conceived lyricist, have and perform, but on the other hand she’s been selected for the most Junos this year. Counting the “Juno Fan Choice Award” and “Craftsman of the Year,” the 23-year-old has been designated for six honors.

On being picked as the host, Cara stated, “To be approached to have the 49th yearly Juno Awards Broadcast is such a unimaginable respect.”

“I’m euphoric to be a piece of the biggest festival of Canadian music and can hardly wait to perceive what the nation’s top ability has coming up,” she included, during the official Junos question and answer session in Toronto.

“It has been a delight watching Alessia prosper from when she originally won Breakthrough Artist of the Year at The 2016 JUNO Awards,” said Allan Reed, president and CEO of CARAS.

“Her music and aestheticness has immediately become universally perceived, and I realize she will be an incredible host.”

The 49th yearly Juno Awards occur on Sunday, March 15, at 8 p.m. (ET) and be communicated live from the SaskTel Center in Saskatoon.

Tickets for the exceptionally foreseen occasion are presently accessible through Ticketmaster starting at $39.95.

This year, $1 from each ticket sold will be given to MusiCounts — Canada’s music training philanthropy related with CARAS and the JUNO Awards.

Juno Fan Choice Award

Alessia Cara
Ali Gatie
Avril Lavigne
Justin Bieber
Loud Luxury
Shawn Mendes
The Weeknd
Tory Lanez

Single of the Year

Alessia Cara — Out of Love
Bülow — Sweet Little Lies
Lennon Stella — La Di Da
Scott Helman — Hang Ups
Shawn Mendes and Camila Cabello — Señorita

Album of the Year

Alessia Cara — The Pains of Growing
Alexandra Stréliski — Inscape
Bryan Adams — Shine a Light
Michael Bublé — Love
Nav — Bad Habits

International Album of the Year

Ariana Grande — Thank U, Next
Billie Eilish — When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?
Ed Sheeran —No. 6 Collaborations Project
Khalid — Free Spirit
Post Malone — Hollywood’s Bleeding

Artist of the Year

Alessia Cara
Bryan Adams
Jessie Reyez
Shawn Mendes
Tory Lanez

Group of the Year

Elijah Woods x Jamie Fine
Loud Luxury
The Reklaws
Walk Off the Earth

Breakthrough Artist of the Year

Alexandra Stréliski
Ali Gatie
Lennon Stella
Tenille Townes

Breakthrough Group of the Year

Hunter Brothers
Neon Dreams
Palaye Royale
The Blue Stones

Songwriter of the Year

Alessia Cara
Patrick Watson
Tenille Townes
Tim Baker

Country Album of the Year

Aaron Goodvin — V
Dallas Smith — The Fall
Dean Brody — Black Sheep
Hunter Brothers — State of Mind
Meghan Patrick — Wild as Me

Adult Alternative Album of the Year

City and Colour — A Pill for Loneliness
Half Moon Run — A Blemish in the Great Light
Iskwē — Acākosīk
Leonard Cohen — Thanks for the Dance
Patrick Watson — Wave

Alternative Album of the Year

Black Mountain — Destroyer
Foxwarren — Foxwarren
Mac DeMarco — Here Comes the Cowboy
Orville Peck — Pony
Pup — Morbid Stuff

Pop Album of the Year

Alessia Cara — The Pains of Growing
Avril Lavigne — Head Above Water
Bülow — Crystalline
Elijah Woods x Jamie Fine — 8:47
Walk Off the Earth — Here We Go!

Rock Album of the Year

Big Wreck — …but for the sun
Headstones — Peopleskills
Sum 41 — Order in Decline
The Dirty Nil — Master Volume
The Glorious Sons — A War on Everything

Rap Recording of the Year

88Glam — 88Glam2
Classified — Tomorrow Could Be the Day Things Change
Killy — Light Path 8
Nav — Bad Habits
Tory Lanez — Freaky

Music Video of the Year

Caraz — Bun Dem (Sarahmée)
Johnny Jansen — Record Shop (Said the Whale)
Jonathan Robert — Topographe (Corridor)
Le GED — Back Off (Laurence Nerbonne)
Sarah Legault — Little Star (Iskwē)

Indigenous Artist or Group of the Year

Celeigh Cardinal — Stories from a Downtown Apartment
Digawolf — Yellowstone
Nêhiyawak — Nipiy
Northern Haze — Siqinnaarut
Riit — Ataataga

Metal/Hard Music Album of the Year

Kobra and the Lotus — Evolution
Lindsay Schoolcraft — Martyr
Single Mothers — Through a Wall
Striker — Play to Win
The Agonist — Orphans

Adult Contemporary Album of the Year

Bryan Adams — Shine a Light
Lauren Spencer-Smith — Unplugged Vol. 1
Marc Jordan — Both Sides
Nuela Charles — Melt
Renee Lamoureux — Empower

The entire list of nominees, can be found through the official Junos website.